Gigantum

The Gigantum User Hub

Welcome to the Gigantum user hub. You'll find comprehensive guides and documentation to help you start working with the Gigantum platform as quickly as possible. If you get stuck, then there is help for that too.

Let's get to it!

Get Started    

Activity Feed and Rollback

Gigantum captures and presents your work in a high resolution and easy to interpret activity feed that lets you search through results, code, data and environment changes. Changes to the data, code, and environment are automatically versioned and displayed.

Versions are represented in the activity feed through automatically extracted data such as figures, results, and code snippets. With a single click you can roll back to the exact version of data, code and environment that produced a given output. You can also always add a note explaining how results have been obtained, questions that remain, or anything you think might be useful.

Example Activity Feed

Example Activity Feed

Rollback from the Activity Feed

Creating a rollback branch does not delete or remove any of your work. It creates a new branch from a particular state of your Project history.

Reverting to a previous point in time is important, so we provide one-click rollback to recreate the code, data and environment that produced a given result or figure.

You can rollback to any disk write, e.g. file upload, notebook save, package added, or result written to file. The small dots in the Activity Feed indicate a rollback point.

To rollback in the master branch:

  1. Find a point in the Activity Feed to which you'd would like to rollback.
  2. Mouse over the small blue dot indicating Rollback is available and click on Rollback to create a new branch
  3. Gigantum fills in default values for the name and description, but you can change them to help remember why you are rolling back

Once the rollback branch is created, the Project container will automatically be re-built in case any dependencies have changed. Depending on the complexity of the environment, this process can take a while. If nothing has changed then it will complete almost instantly.

Rollback availability is indicated with a small blue dot and is present when anything has been written to disk.

Rollback availability is indicated with a small blue dot and is present when anything has been written to disk.

Leave or Delete a Rollback Branch

When you rollback a Project you're creating a new branch from a specific previous Project state. If you want to resume working on your main branch, you just need to switch branches. To switch back to the master branch, just select it in the branch view and click the "Switch to Branch" button.

If you want to delete a rollback branch, follow the procedure to delete a branch by opening the branch view and click on the trash can icon to delete.

Activity Feed and Rollback


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.