You can share work in two ways. The easiest way is to publish a Project to Gigantum Cloud, but you can also export a Project as a file and then send it to people. This method removes Gigantum Cloud from the loop.
At the moment, our permissions model is pretty simple.Your projects can be published either privately or publicly. When you add a "Collaborator" to the project, they can be given read, write, or admin permissions. All collaborators regardless of permission level are able to download the project to their local machine.
Read - Read only permission. Can only pull updates.
Read permissions, plus can sync to branches other than the master branch.
Write permissions, plus can sync to master branch and manage collaborators.
To share a Project just make click the
Publish button in the toolbar at the top of the project menu.
Publishing a Project is done with the Actions widget, but the Project must be stopped first.
Once it is published, you will get a URL that other people can use to download your Project. The link is available in the
Currently, free accounts are limited to 25GB of total storage. You may experience long sync times for large Projects, as uploading and downloading data can be dependent on your internet connection
Currently, you can only add Collaborators individually, but in the future you'll be able to create Teams and apply more granular permissions.
To add a Collaborator:
Collaboratorsbutton in the top left corner to bring up the Manage Collaborators window
- Start typing the user's name, username, or email and select the user from the auto-complete widget. Alternatively enter the username directly
- Select the desired permissions of the collaborator using the drop down menu.
- Click the "+" button to add the user as a Collaborator
Once added, the Project will show up in the user's Cloud View the Gigantum Client. You can also share the Project URL (accessible from the
Actions menu) that the Collaborator can use to import the Project.
Once a Project is published, you can "sync" changes at any time. The sync operation first downloads any changes you don't have locally, merges those with your copy of the Project, and then uploads your changes.
If a merge conflict occurs that cannot be automatically resolved, you will be prompted to "Force Sync". This operation will overwrite any conflicted files with the version from the server. You can always recover your version by rolling back in the activity feed if desired. Future releases will provide a better managed merge experience.
If a Project has been shared with you as a collaborator, it will appear in the "Cloud" tab in the Projects overview (reached via the sidebar in the Gigantum Client). Each Project will have a Cloud icon with a check-mark for downloaded Projects, and a down-arrow to begin download and build of a Project. Currently, this will link to your collaborator's Project and any sync actions will update that original Project.
If you are working with a public Project, use the "Add Project" card on the "Local" Projects tab, and enter the link to the Project you've obtained from your collaborator or from the explore page.
If you Import a Project from a file, this will always create a copy, and no changes will be synced with the original.